Taking content offline

You can take part of your repository offline. In the offline mode, you are able to navigate through your offline structure, view the related metadata, and open the documents you have selected to take offline.

Selecting the content you want to take offline

There are two ways you can take folders offline:

  • Via the Favorite Folders menu

  • Via the folders menu: when you take a folder in the repository offline, it is automatically added to your Favorites after the synchronization has been completed

While the folders are synchronizing, a message at the bottom of the screen will alert you that the process is running.

When completed, the folder is visible under the Favorite folder and is marked with a .

Refreshing offline content

When you are online, you can refresh the offline content with the newest content available on the server. Fred runs a validation check, and only updates the content that has been changed on the server since the previous synchronization.

Deactivating Offline sync

If you want to deactivate the offline sync mode, you need to uncheck the ‘Take Offline’ command in the Favorite folder.

Working in Offline mode

When you are offline, you can connect to the local repository via the Bookmarks menu. First, make sure to disconnect from the network by clicking on File/Disconnect. In the list of repositories, right click the bookmark you want to connect to, and select Connect Offline.

When you are connected, you will be able to navigate in the substructure that has been synchronized.
Only some of the menu commands will be available whilst you are offline.

You will be able to:

  • Open the documents

  • Copy a document and paste it to your desktop

  • Copy a link to the document and paste the link in another document or in an email

  • Export the metadata that has been synchronized

  • Print the document to your default printer

  • Zoom into a folder

  • Add a folder to Favorites