The below functionalities are not shown in the default installations but are available to project specific implementations. If such a functionality might be useful to your project, it can be made available through configuration.
This functionality covers the need to get input from the user to be able to execute a script. This functionality is used in project specific commands that are typically used in location sensitive menu’s. For example, a folder of a specific type, a document of a specific type, …
While executing a command, the user is requested to provide input through a pop-up screen. Then this input is used to complete the command.
The below example provided is based upon the creation of a project folder structure with a specific naming. The scripts create a folder structure using a folder template, but requests the user to fill in the name of some of the folders.
In the below example, the ‘Create DPV Folder Structure’ command only appears on the DPV folder.
After clicking the command, the user is requested to provide specific names of folders.
Then the script is run and the complete folder structure is created.
The purpose it to take the content off-line and lock it for other users while the content of the folder is edited. The content of the full folder describes the project and the changes that need to be executed by some specialized teams, which might be external parties.
This is typical a context sensitive command which appears on special type of folder (project folder, case folder, …).
The content of the folder is put into a container and downloaded on the desktop.
The content of the folder is locked for other users. Other users can see who has locked the folder. The locked folder has a specific icon indicating the locked state.
After receiving the container with the edited content, the user can upload it back to the server and release the content for other users to edit it.
The user needs to indicate which container needs to be compared with the locked folder on the server.
Alfred Desktop will compare the content and present the changes (removed, added, changed) in a table. The user can select which changes they want to apply to the server.
The content is updated on the server and released for other users to edit it. In case of deletion of the content, it will be Invalidated instead of Deleted.
Remove the lock on the folder that was locked.
To avoid unauthorized or accidental removal of content, one can activate the ‘Invalidate’ content in specific area’s of the repository.
Invalidate will move the content to a ‘shadow’ folder structure instead of deleting the content. An authorized person can then delete the content in the Invalidated folder structure.
Or the content can be restored by moving the content back to the original folder structure.