The below functionalities are not shown in the default installations, but are available to project specific implementations. If a particular functionality might be useful to your project, it can be made available through configuration.
This functionality covers the need to get input from the user to be able to execute a script. It is used in project specific commands that are typically used in location sensitive menus. For example, a folder of a specific type, a document of a specific type, …
While executing a command, the user is requested to provide input through a pop-up screen. This input is used to complete the command.
The example below is based upon the creation of a project folder structure with a specific naming scheme. The scripts create a folder structure using a folder template, but request the user to fill in the name of some of the folders.
In the following example, the ‘Create DPV Folder Structure’ command only appears on the DPV folder.
After clicking the command, the user is requested to provide specific folder names.
Then the script is run and the complete folder structure is created.
The purpose of this functionality is to take the content off-line and prevent access by other users while the content of the folder is edited. The content of the full folder describes the project and the changes that need to be executed by specialized teams, which might be external parties.
This is typically a context sensitive command which appears on a special type of folder (project folder, case folder, …).
The content of the folder is put into a container and downloaded to the desktop.
For other users, the content of the folder is locked. They can see who has locked the folder. The locked folder has a specific icon indicating the locked state/status.
After receiving the container with the edited content, the user can upload it to the server and release the content for other users to edit it.
The user must indicate which container needs to be compared with the locked folder on the server.
Alfred Desktop will compare the content and present the changes (removed, added, changed) in a table. The user can select which changes they want to apply to the server.
The content is updated on the server and released for other users to edit it. In case of deletion of the content, it will be Invalidated instead of Deleted.
This functionality removes the lock on the folder that was locked.
To avoid unauthorized or accidental removal of content, one can activate the ‘Invalidate’ content in specific areas of the repository.
Invalidate will move the content to a ‘shadow’ folder structure instead of deleting the content. An authorized person can then delete the content in the Invalidated folder structure.
Or, the content can be restored by moving the content back to the original folder structure (by returning the content to the original folder structure).